Share this book page

COMING SOON

Smoke and Light

Rulers and Rebels, Book 1

Publisher: Valencia Press
Year of Publication: 2024
Book type: Novel
Age: YA (12-18)
Genre: Fantasy
Sub Genre: Dystopian · Romantic Fantasy
Language: English
POV: First-person
Tense: Past
Key Phrases: amnesia · closed door · deal with the enemy · dreams · Dystopian Fantasy · elemental magic · magic and science · magical forest · memory loss · mental health rep · no spice · rebels · romantasy · romantic dystopian · romantic fantasy · royalty · rulers vs rebels · sassy side characters · Second Chance Romance · secrets and lies · slow burn romance
Spice Level:
1/5

The spice rating is in regards to the type of sexual content within the book. Below is a helpful guide (courtesy of Georgia C Leigh)

1= YA romantic, making out, MAYBE a closed door.
2= some on page foreplay and nudity but mostly fade to black.
3= open door, on page vanilla sex.
4= on page sex – hot or with kink.
5= erotica.

“SMOKE AND LIGHT is a triumph of a novel that demands to be experienced more than once. Kristin Ardis navigates so many delicate and crucial topics with such grace and integrity, never shying away from the brutal realities of war and the consequences for those embroiled in it–the fighters, and the collateral. Yet so much hope is infused within this story, you’ll find yourself flying through the pages, desperate to see what awaits on the next one. With a cast of characters who leap off the page, a plot full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing to the very last page, and powerful messages of belonging, fighting for yourself, and the conquering power of love, SMOKE AND LIGHT is a book you will want to revisit again and again–and again!”
– R. Dugan, Author of A Story Spun in Scarlet
Dare to go beyond the gates.

A kingdom at war.

A search for missing memories.

And a tangled web of love, loss, loyalty, and lies.

After months of recovery, Khara Laveya is desperate to leave the medical wing and restore the memories she lost in a brutal rebel attack. Her responsibility to her kingdom as future Sovereigna is a looming distraction from reclaiming them.

Torn between duty and desperation, Khara is haunted by a mysterious grove that calls to her in her dreams. Finding the grove may lead to her missing memories, but venturing beyond the city walls is an act of treason. Worse, it risks another encounter with the ruthless rebel forces. 

To enter the forest could mean death … or something far more sinister.

The secrets lurking in the shadows could destroy the life Khara has sacrificed so much to rebuild and unravel the kingdom itself.

+ + +

Smoke and Light is a romantic YA fantasy set in a world where magic and science meet and modern royals face off against daring rebels. Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone, Winter, White and Wicked, and Shatter Me!

For a full content guide, please visit kristinardisbooks.com.

Where to read

To edit this listing, please enter the editing password. Only the author or publisher can update their listings. If you did not set a password upon submitting the original listing, please request one using the contact form, remembering to state the book name.